Home » Activism 101 » Show Tunes and Politics

Show Tunes and Politics

Believe it or not, I’ve been working on several posts, but I can’t seem to get any of them right to my satisfaction.  My thoughts are all over the place lately.  Maybe too much is happening.  Maybe I’m not focussed.  So today I’m trying yet another post. It’s short, an easy read.

This morning I’ve had songs from The Lion King in my head.  Count yourself privileged that you don’t have to watch me dance to the songs in my head!  This one sticks out.  It’s “Be Prepared,” sung by Scar as he plots to take over the flourishing kingdom by killing the king and his son.

[Scar:]
I know that your powers of retention
Are as wet as a warthog’s backside
But thick as you are, pay attention
My words are a matter of pride
It’s clear from your vacant expressions
The lights are not all on upstairs
But we’re talking kings and successions
Even you can’t be caught unawares
So prepare for a chance of a lifetime
Be prepared for sensational news
A shining new era
Is tiptoeing nearer

I know it sounds sordid
But you’ll be rewarded
When at last I am given my dues
And injustice deliciously squared
Be prepared!

[Scar:] I will be king! …Stick with me, and
you’ll never go hungry again!

[Hyenas: {In tight, crisp phrasing and diction}]
It’s great that we’ll soon be connected.
With a king who’ll be all-time adored.
[Scar:] Of course, quid pro quo, you’re expected
To take certain duties on board
The future is littered with prizes
And though I’m the main addressee
The point that I must emphasize is
You won’t get a sniff without me!
So prepare for the coup of the century
Be prepared for the murkiest scam
Meticulous planning
Tenacity spanning…

Ah, the beauty of politics.  The lyrics of this song concisely say what is going on today in so many corners of politics.  Our leaders recognize that the bulk of the populace is thick.  They see the vacant expressions and recognize the lack of retention.  So they promise the world.  They only deliver the bad, but we quickly forget.  We are so easily manipulated.

Will you continue to be thick?  Will you continue to forgive and forget?  Will you continue to vote for the horrid representatives because they have money?

Leave a comment